Oct 22, 2020  
Catalog 2020-2021 
    
Catalog 2020-2021

Tuition & Fees



Calculate your tuition

As one of the 23 member campuses in the California State University system, CSUMB charges standardized registration tuition and fees, including nonresident tuition fee, along with a handful of campus-specific fees. These pages describe the tuition and fees and related procedures.

The CSU makes every effort to keep student costs to a minimum. Tuition and fees listed in published schedules or student accounts may need to be increased when public funding is inadequate. Therefore, CSU reserves the right, even after tuition or fees are initially charged or initial payments are made, to increase or modify any listed tuition or fees. All listed fees, other than mandatory systemwide tuition, are subject to change without notice, until the date when instruction for a particular semester or quarter has begun. All CSU listed tuition and fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by the Board of Trustees, the Chancellor, or the Presidents, as appropriate. Changes in mandatory systemwide tuition will be made in accordance with the requirements of the Working Families Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act (Sections 66028 - 66028.6 of the Education Code).

The following reflects applicable systemwide tuition and fees for semester campuses that were authorized by the Board of Trustees at their March 2017 meeting. These rates are subject to change.

2020-2021 Tuition & Deadlines

Notes

  • Tuition and Fees for auditing are the same as for credit.
  • Mandatory systemwide tuition and fees are waived for those individuals who qualify for such exemptions under the provisions of the California Education Code (see section on Fee Waivers).
  • Tuition and Fees for programs offered under the College of Extended Education vary from the fees listed below. Learn more about tuition and fees under Extended Education.

All Students

Application Fee (non-refundable) - The application fee is due upon submission of your application.  Pay your application fee using a debit card, credit card, or PayPal acount: $70

Active Duty Service Member Students

Active duty military service members planning to use Tuition Assistance (TA) must get approval from their Education Service Officer (ESO) prior to enrolling at CSUMB.  For additional information on TA please contact Veteran_Services@csumb.edu

2020-21 Fall and Spring Semester Tuition Fees

Basic Tuition

Undergraduate Tuition

Credits Per Semester Per Academic Year
6.1 or more $2,871 $5,742
0 to 6.0 $1,665 $3,330

Credential Program Tuition (Qualified Only)

Units Per Semester Per Academic Year
6.1 or more $3,330 $6,660
0 to 6.0 $1,932 $3,864

Graduate/Post Baccalaureate Tuition

Units Per Semester Per Academic Year
6.1 or more $3,588 $7,176
0 to 6.0 $2,082 $4,164

Campus-Specific Fees

All matriculated students pay the following fees each semester regardless of student status or semester units taken.

Fees Cost
Materials, services, and facilities fee $82.50*
Student health services fee $57
Student mental health services fee $36
Associate student body fee $48
Sports, recreation, and leisure activity fee- IRA fee $127
Student Union fee $350
Total campus-specific fees $700.50
*Please note that due to physical absence from the campus for the Fall 2020 semester, the MSF fee has been reduced; the regular rate of $157.50 may be reinstated for the Spring 2021 semester should full, on-site instruction resume.

Other Fees and Charges

Fee Cost
Parking Permit (per semester) see website
Late registration fee (nonrefundable) $25
Administrative late fee (nonrefundable) $20
Installment payment plan fee (nonrefundable) $33
Refund processing fee $5
Returned check fee for first check (paper or electronic) $25
Returned check fee for subsequent checks (paper or electronic) $35
Library - overdue books/materials Fines vary
Library - lost of damaged books/materials Cost plus $20

Credit Cards and Electronic Check (eCheck)

CSUMB offers two online payment options to our current students:  (1) eCheck and (2) Credit Card.  There is no cost associated with paying by eCheck but there is a 2.75% non-refundable processing fee when paying by credit card.  For credit card payments we accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover.

Students can access Online Payments via their Dashboard within the OASIS Self Service/Student Center.

Parents can have their students create a Parent PIN that allows direct access to the online payment site.

Procedure for Establishment or Abolishment of Campus-based Mandatory Fees

The law governing the California State University provides that specific campus fees defined as mandatory, such as a student body association fee and a student body center fee, may be established. A student body association fee must be established upon a favorable vote of two-thirds of the students voting in an election held for this purpose (Education Code, Section89300). The campus President may adjust the student body association fee only after the fee adjustment has been approved by a majority of students voting in a referendum established for that purpose. The required fee shall be subject to referendum at any time upon the presentation of a petition to the campus President containing the signatures of 10 percent of the regularly enrolled students at the University. Student body association fees support a variety of cultural and recreational programs, childcare centers, and special student support programs. A student body center fee may be established only after a fee referendum is held which approves by a two-thirds favorable vote the establishment of the fee (Education Code, Section 89304). Once bonds are issued, authority to set and adjust student body center fees is governed by provisions of the State University Revenue Bond Act of 1947, including, but not limited to, Education Code sections 90012, 90027, and 90068.

The process to establish and adjust other campus-based mandatory fees requires consideration by the campus fee advisory committee and a student referendum as established by Executive Order 1102, Section III. The campus President may use alternate consultation mechanisms if he/she determines that a referendum is not the best mechanism to achieve appropriate and meaningful consultation. Results of the referendum and the fee committee review are advisory to the campus President. The President may adjust campus-based mandatory fees but must request the Chancellor to establish a new mandatory fee. The President shall provide to the campus fee advisory committee a report of all campus-based mandatory fees. The campus shall report annually to the Chancellor a complete inventory of all campus-based mandatory fees.

For more information or questions, please contact the Budget Office in the CSU Chancellor’s Office at (562) 951-4560.

Fee Allocation

A fee advisory committee comprised of a student majority provides advice to the campus president about charging student fees and allocating campus-based fee revenue. Resources from the materials, services, and facilities fee are used to support a variety of services, and currently are allocated to support health services, instructionally-related activities, transportation, childcare, and university services (includes ID card, transcripts, campus catalog, graduation/diploma). The allocation to transportation supports alternative modes of transportation, including the shuttle service, but does not include a parking permit. If you elect to purchase a parking permit, you will pay an additional fee as noted in Other Fees and Charges.

Voluntary Systemwide Fee

Student Involvement and Representation Fee (SIRF): $2.00

On January 28, 2015 the CSU Board of Trustees established a new voluntary student fee, the Student Involvement and Representation Fee, which went into effect in the fall 2015 term. This fee is charged to all students unless they choose to opt out of the fee. Those students who wish to opt out may do so by navigating to their Student Center and viewing their Account Activity page, which is accessed by a drop-down menu in the Finance section. The OPT OUT feature can be found under the “All Terms” default view. The fee amount is $2 per fall and spring term, and is used to support the student leadership, involvement, governance, and advocacy programs managed by the California State Student Association (CSSA). For more information, see the CSSA website.

Non-resident Students (U.S. and Foreign)

Nonresident Tuition (in addition to basic tuition fees and other systemwide fees charged all students) for all campuses: $396 per semester unit.

The total nonresident tuition paid per semester will be determined by the number of units taken.

Mandatory system-wide fees are waived for those individuals who qualify for such exemption under the provisions of the California Education Code (see section on Fee Waivers).

Students are charged campus fees in addition to tuition fees and other systemwide fees.

For more information about how nonresident status is determined, please refer to the Admission section of the catalog.

Miscellaneous Course Fees

Fees for courses held wholly or partially offsite or involving added expense of materials are listed individually on csumb.edu/schedule

Summer 2020

Payment plans are not available for the summer term.

Undergraduate, Graduate, & Post-Baccalaureate Programs
(Does not include Graduate and Post-Baccalaureate Credential Programs or MIST Program)

In addition to the per unit tuition, students pay $39 in campus-based fees.

Extended Education Campus Fee: $25

Extended Education Health Services Fee: $14

Calculation Tuition Campus-based fee Total
1 unit @ $280 $280 $39 $319
2 units @ $280 $560 $39 $599
3 units @ $280 $840 $39 $879
4 units @ $280 $1120 $39 $1159
5 units @ $280 $1400 $39 $1439
6 units @ $280 $1680 $39 $1719
7 units @ $280 $1960 $39 $1999
8 units @ $280 $2240 $39 $2279
9 units @ $280 $2520 $39 $2559
10 units @ $280 $2800 $39 $2839
11 units @ $280 $3080 $39 $3119
12 units @ $280 $3360 $39 $3399

Credential Program (Qualifying Credential Participant - Only 1st Credential)

In addition to the per unit tuition, students pay $48 in Campus-based fees.

  • Materials, Services, and Facilities Fee: $22
  • MSF - Health Services Fee: $14
  • Associated Student Body Fee: $12
Calculation Tuition Campus-based fee Total
1 unit @ $470 per unit $470 $48 $518
2 units @ $470 per unit $940 $48 $988
3 units @ $470 per unit $1410 $48 $1458
4 units @ $470 per unit $1880 $48 $1928
5 units; part-time cap $1932 $48 $1980
6 units; part-time cap $1932 $48 $1980
7 units @ $346 per unit $2422 $48 $2470
8 units @ $346 per unit $2768 $48 $2816
9 units @ $346 per unit $3114 $48 $3162
10 units; full-time cap $3330 $48 $3378
11 units; full-time cap $3330 $48 $3378
12 units; full-time cap $3330 $48 $3378

MIST Program (Post-Baccalaureate), and Credential Program (Graduate and Post-Baccalaureate only)

Calculation Tuition Campus-based fee Total
1 unit @ $507 $507 $48 $555
2 units @ $507 $1,014 $48 $1,062
3 units @ $507 $1,521 $48 $1,569
4 units @ $507 $2,028 $48 $2,076
5 units; part-time cap $2,082 $48 $2,130
6 units; part-time cap $2,082 $48 $2,130
7 units @ $374 per unit $2,618 $48 $2,666
8 units @ $374 per unit $2,992 $48 $3,040
9 units @ $374 per unit $3,366 $48 $3,414
10 units; full-time cap $3,588 $48 $3,636
11 units; full-time cap $3,588 $48 $3,636
12 units; full-time cap $3,588 $48 $3,636

Deadlines

Fall 2020

Payment Deadlines

July 31, 2020 ~ Last day to pay registration tuition and fees, or have a financial aid extension of payment, or have a third party authorization form covering registration tuition and fees on file with Student Accounting, otherwise your enrollment will be cancelled for non-payment

July 31, 2020 ~ To avoid a $35 late housing fee and to remain eligible for student housing, full payment of the first installment (1 of 3) of housing and meal plan charges must be received OR you must have a FA housing payment extension (financial aid) in place.  Housing and meal plan eligibility questions should be directed to Student Housing & Residential Life at 831-582-3378.

August 1, 2020 ~ Starting today, payment or a Financial Aid extension of payment, or a third party authorization form covering registration tuition and fees on file with Student Accounting is required prior to registration. This includes students whose enrollment was cancelled.

September 1, 2020 ~ To avoid a $35 late housing fee, full payment of the first and second installments (2 of 3) of housing and meal plan charges must be received OR you must have a FA housing payment extension (financial aid) in place.

September 8, 2020 ~ Last day of the fall 2020 extension of payment for financial aid students ~ Last day to have registration tuition and fees, including course/lab fees, and the first and second (2 of 3) installments of housing and meal plan charges paid without being assessed a $20 late administrative fee and/or a $35 late housing fee ~ Last day to have all tuition and fees, including course/lab fees, and the first and second (2 of 3) installments of housing and meal plan charges paid to avoid a Business & Finance (Student Financials) hold placed on your student account.

October 1, 2020 ~ To avoid a $35 late housing fee, full payment (3 of 3) of housing and meal plan charges must be received.

November 1, 2020 ~ To avoid an additional $35 late housing fee charge, all housing and meal plan charges must be paid in full.

December 1, 2020 ~ To avoid an additional $35 late housing fee charge, all housing and meal plan charges must be paid in full.

 

Refund Deadlines

August 23, 2020 ~ Last day to officially cancel registration or drop all courses and receive a full refund of mandatory tuition and fees

September 4, 2020 ~ Last day to drop from full-time to part-time and receive a full refund of the tuition fee difference (nonresident students also receive full refund of non-resident tuition fee)

October 27, 2020 ~ Last day to officially withdraw or cancel all courses and receive a prorated refund of mandatory tuition and fees

 

Registration Deadlines

August 23, 2020 ~ Last day to register without being assessed a $25 Late Registration Fee

 

Installment Payment Plan for Tuition and Fees

First Installment due with signed contract ~ Installments are due on or before the listed due date on contract ~ $20 Administrative Late Fee is assessed for each late payment made

August 30, 2020 ~ 2nd Installment Due

September 30, 2020 ~ 3rd Installment Due

 

Financial Holds

Business and Finance (Student Financials) holds (SF) are placed on student accounts with balances. For students with a financial aid extension of payment, SF holds are placed following the extension of payment deadline.

Spring 2021

Payment Deadlines

January 5, 2010 ~ Last day to pay registration tuition and fees, or have a financial aid extension of payment in place, or have a third party authorization form covering registration tuition and fees on file with Student Accounting, otherwise your enrollment will be cancelled for non-payment.

January 5, 2021 ~ To avoid a $35 late housing fee and to remain eligible for student housing, full payment of the first installment (1 of 3) of housing and meal plan charges must be received OR you must have a FA housing payment extension (financial aid) in place. Housing and meal plan eligibility questions should be directed to Student Housing & Residential Life at 831-582-3378.

January 6, 2021 ~ Starting today, payment or a financial aid extension of payment or a third party authorization form covering registration tuition and fees on file with Student Accounting is required prior to registration. This includes students whose enrollment was cancelled.

February 1, 2021 ~ To avoid a $35 late housing fee, full payment of the first and second installments (2 of 3) of housing and meal plan charges must be received OR you must have a FA housing payment extension (financial aid) in place.

February 5, 2021 ~ Last day of the Spring 2021 extension of payment for financial aid students ~ Last day to have registration tuition and fees, including course/lab fees, and the first and second (2 of 3) installments of housing and meal plan charges paid without being assessed a $20 late administrative fee and/or a $35 late housing fee ~ Last day to have registration tuition and fees, including course/lab fees, and the first and second (2 of 3) installments of housing and meal plan charges paid to avoid a Busines and Finance (Student Financials) hold placed on your student account.

 

Refund Deadlines

January 24, 2021 ~ Last day to officially cancel registration or drop all courses and receive a full refund of mandatory tuition and fees.

February 5, 2021 ~ Last day to drop from full-time to part-time and receive a full refund of the Tuition Fee difference (nonresident students also receive full refund of per unit non-resident tuition fee).

March 30, 2021 ~ Last day to officially withdraw or cancel all courses and receive a prorated refund of mandatory tuition and fees.

 

Registration Deadline

January 24, 2021~ Last day to register without being assessed a $25 late registration fee.

 

Installment Payment Plan Deadlines for Tuition and Fees

First installment due with signed contract. Installments are due on or before the listed due date on contract. $20 Administrative Late Fee is assessed for each late payment made.

February 5, 2021 ~ 2nd installment due

March 1, 2021 ~ To avoid a $35 late housing fee, full payment (3 of 3) of housing and meal plan charges must be paid be received.

March 8, 2021 ~ 3rd installment due

April 1, 2021 ~ To avoid an additional $35 late housing fee charge, all housing and meal plan charges must be paid in full.

May 1, 2021 ~ To avoid an additional $35 late housing fee charge, all housing and meal plan charges must be paid in full.

 

Financial Holds

Business and Finance (Student Financials) holds (SF) are placed on accounts with balances. For students with a financial aid extension of payment, SF holds will not be placed on accounts with balances until after the extension of payment deadline.

Past Years Tuition & Fees

2019-20 Tuition, Fees, and Deadlines

You can view past tuition and fee information in the Catalog Archive .

Fee Waivers and Exemptions

The California Education Code provides for the waiver of mandatory systemwide tuition fees as summarized below:

  • Military: Section 66025.3 Dependents eligible to receive assistance under Article 2 of Chapter 4 of Division 4 of the Military and Veterans Code; child of veteran of the United States military who has a service-connected disability, has been killed in service, or has died of a service-connected disability, and meets specified income provisions; dependent, or surviving spouse (who has not remarried) of a member of the California National Guard who, in the line of duty, and while in the active service of the state, was killed, died of a disability resulting from an event that occurred while in the active service of the state, or is permanently disabled as a result of an event that occurred while in the active service of the state; and undergraduate student who is a recipient of a Medal of Honor, or undergraduate student who is a child of a recipient of a Medal of Honor who is no more than 27 years old, meets the income restriction and California residency requirement. The waiver of tuition or fees under this section applies only to a person who is determined to be a resident of California pursuant to Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 680000) of Part 41.
  • Foster Youth: Current or former foster youth who are 25 years of age of younger; have been in foster care for at least 12 consecutive months after reaching 10 years of age; meet one of the following: is under a current foster care placement order by the juvenile court, was under a foster care placement order by the juvenile course upon reaching 18 years of age, or was adopted, or entered into guardianship, from foster care; completes and submits the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA); maintains a minimum grade point average and meets the conditions necessary to be in good academic standing at the campus; and meets the financial need requirements established for Cal Grant A awards. The waiver of mandatory systemwide tuition and fees under this section applied only to a person who is determined to be a residents of California pursuant to Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 68000) of Part 41 of the California Education Code.
  • Qualifying Student Trustees: Section 66602 A qualifying student from the California State University who is appointed by the Governor to serve as Trustee of the California State University for the duration of his or her term of office.
  • Alan Pattee Scholarships: Section 68120 Surviving spouse or child of a deceased California resident who was employed by a public agency, or was a contractor or an employee of a contractor, performing service for a public agency, and was killed in the performance of his/her principal duties of active law enforcement or fire suppression and prevention duties (referred to as Alan Pattee Scholarships). A person who qualifies for the waiver under this section as a surviving child of a contractor or of an employee of a contractor, who performed services for a public agency must have enrolled as an undergraduate student at the California State University and meets the income restriction requirement with supporting documentation (i.e., his/her income, including value of parent support, does not exceed the maximum household income and asset level for an applicant for a Cal Grant B award).
  • Section 68121 A qualifying student enrolled in an undergraduate program who is the surviving dependent of any individual killed in the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center in New York City, the Pentagon building in Washington, D.C., or the crash of United Airlines Flight 93 in southwestern Pennsylvania, if the student meets the financial need requirements set forth in Section 69432.7 for the Cal Grant A Program and either the surviving dependent or the individual killed in the attacks was a resident of California on September 11, 2001.

Students who may qualify for the above benefits should contact the Admissions/Registrar’s Office for further information and/or an eligibility determination.

The California Education Code provides for the following nonresident tuition exemptions as summarized below:

  • Section 68075- A student who is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States stationed in this state, except a member of the Armed Forces assigned for educational purposes to a state-supported institution of higher education, is entitles to resident classification only for the purpose of determining the amount of tuition and fees. If that member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is in attendance at an institution is thereafter transferred on military orders to a place outside of this state where the member continues to serve in the Armed Forces of the United States, he or she shall not lose his or her resident classification so long as he or she remains continuously enrolled at that institution.
  • Section 68075.7 - A nonresident student is exempt from paying nonresident tuition or any other fee that is exclusively applicable to nonresident students if the student (1) resides in California, (2) meets the definition of “covered individual” as defined in either: (A) Section 3679 (c)(2)(A) or (B)(ii)(I) of Title 38 of the United States Code, as that provision read on January 1, 2017; or (B) Section 3679(c)(2)(B)9(i) or (ii)(II) or Title 38 of the United States Code, as that provision read on January 1, 2017; and (3) is eligible for education benefits under either the federal Montgomery GI Bill-Active Duty program or the Post-9/11 GI Bill program as each read on January 1, 2017.
  • Section 68122 A student who is a victim of trafficking, domestic violence, and other serious crimes who has been granted T or U visa status (respectively under Section 1101(a)(15)(T)(i) or (ii), or Section 1101(a)(15)(U)(i) or (ii), of Title 8 of the United States Code) shall be exempt from paying nonresident tuition to the same extent as individuals who are admitted to the United States as refugees under Section 1157 of Title 8 of the United States Code.
  • Section 68130.5 A student, other than a nonimmigrant alien (8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)), who is not a resident of California is exempt from paying nonresident tuition if the student meets the requirements of (1) through (4), below:
    1. Satisfaction of the requirements of either subparagraph (A) or subparagraph (B):
      1. A total attendance of, or attainment of credits earned while in California equivalent to, three or more years of full-time attendance or attainment of credits at any of the following:
        1. California high schools.
        2. California high schools established by the State Board of Education.
        3. California adult schools established by a county office of education, a unified school district or high school district, or the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (subject to class hours’ requirement).
        4. Campuses of the California Community Colleges (subject to the credit requirements).
        5. a combination of those schools set forth in clauses (i) to (iv), inclusive.
      2. Three or more years of full-time high school coursework, California secondary schools, or a combination of California elementary and secondary schools.
    2. Satisfaction of any of the following:
      1. Graduation from a California high school or attainment of the equivalent thereof.
      2. Attainment of an associate degree from a campus of the California Community Colleges.
      3. Fulfillment of the minimum transfer requirements established for the California State University for students transferring from a campus of the California Community Colleges.
    3. Registration as an entering student at, or current enrollment at, an accredited institution of higher education in California not earlier than the fall semester or quarter of the 2001-02 academic year.
    4. In the case of a person without lawful immigration status, the filing of an affidavit with the institution of higher education stating that the student has filed an application to legalize his or her immigration status, or will file an application as soon as he or she is eligible to do so.

Payments, Refunds & Debts Owed

Payment

Students may register prior to paying tuition and fees, however, tuition and fees must be paid prior to the Enrollment Cancellation date for each term (see Payment/Refund Deadlines). Tuition and fee payments may be made by cash, check or money order at the Campus Service Center. Payments by check will also be accepted by mail (please do not mail cash or money orders). The cancelled check serves as your receipt. Payments must be made in U.S. dollars only.

Mail payments to:

Campus Service Center
CSUMB
100 Campus Center
Seaside, CA  93955

Information for Students Using Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment Benefits (CH31) or Post 9/11 G.I. Bill® (CH33)

A student using Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment benefits (CH31) or Post-9/11 G.I. Bill (CH33) will be allowed to enroll in and attend courses and access campus facilities while the campus awaits payment for tuition and fees from the VA. While awaiting receipt of funds from the VA, CSUMB will not impose any penalty, charge late fees, or require an eligible student to borrow additional funds to cover tuition or fees. This waiting period begins the date the student provides appropriate documentation and continues either until fund are received from the VA or until 90 days after the School Certifying Official has certified the student’s enrollment for tuition and fees.

To demonstrate current eligibility and intent to use Chapter 31 or 33 benefits, a student must provide the following documents:

  • VA Form 28-1905 (Authorization and Certification of Entrance or Reentrance into Rehabilitation and Certification of Status); or
  • Certificate of Eligibility (COE) or Education Enrollment Status form (printed from VA website).
  • A written request to use either VA Vocational Rehabilitation or Post 9/11 G.I. Bill benefits; and
  • All additional information requested by the School of Certifying Official to properly certify enrollment to the VA.
     

The following two campus forms found on the Student Veteran Services website:

  1. Request to Initiate VA Benefits at CSUMB
  2. VA Certification Request Form

For more information contact the School Certifying Official at Veteran_Services@csumb.edu or (831) 582-5720.

Online Payments

If you wish to pay by credit card, you must do so online through ePayment. There is a 2.75% convenience fee for the use of this service. Credit cards accepted on ePayment are VISA, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover. You may also make a payment using your regular checking account on ePayment. There is no additional fee when using your regular checking account.

What you should know before you make an ACH (online check) payment:

  1. There is no fee when paying by ACH (check) online.
  2. You will need to have a regular checking account. (Call your bank to confirm ACH use.)

Accounts that may not be accepted as an ACH payment:

  • Money Market Accounts
  • Educational Fund Accounts
  • Credit Union Accounts
  • Savings Accounts
  • Loan Checks

Account number printed on your check card or ATM card are not acceptable as ACH.

What you should know before you make a credit card online payment:

VISA, Master Card, American Express, Discover are accepted.

  1. There is a 2.75% convenience fee when paying by credit card online.
  2. You will need to have the card number, expiration date, billing address and the 3-4 digit card ID.

Extension of Payment

Applying for Financial Aid does not guarantee an extension of payment for housing, meal plan or registration charges.

To qualify for an extension of payment prior to disenrollment (enrollment cancellation), students must accept their Federal Student Loan awarded on CMS prior to July 30th if the loan is needed to pay the tuition balance.

This extension of payment expires and all outstanding charges are due when all financial aid awards are disbursed to your student account, but no later than the add/drop date of each semester. If housing, meal plan or registration charges are outstanding after these deadlines, late charges will be assessed and holds will be placed on your student record.

Installment Payment Plan

Under guidelines issued by the CSU Chancellor’s Office, the Tuition Fee Installment Payment Plan (IPP) enables you to defer payment of a portion of the tuition fee only. However, you are not eligible to participate if you receive financial aid, waivers, or other deferments. IPP contracts are available at the Campus Service Center.

To take advantage of this option, turn in a completed-signed contract, along with the first payment, at the Campus Service Center. Payments may be made online or in person. A $33 nonrefundable administrative fee (Ed Code Section 89700.1 & Executive Order 632) will be assessed to cover costs associated with the IPP. Payment amounts and due dates are listed on the IPP contract.

A $20 administrative late payment fee will be assessed for each installment payment not received by the due date. Reminders are not sent, and it is your responsibility to make payments on or before the due dates listed on your contract. A Business and Finance Hold (SF) will be placed on accounts that still show a balance due at the end of the contract.

Refunds

As CSUMB plans to continue to provide academic credit for courses taken and delivered by alternative means, per CSU system policy, there will be no refund for the Spring 2020 semester’s tuition and mandatory campus fees due to COVID-19.  Please understand that many services are still being provided and the campus is still incurring expenses to deliver in this new modality.  CSUMB has refunded parking, housing, and dining fees to students.

Regulations governing the refund of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, for students enrolling at the California State University are included in Section 41802 of Title 5,California Code of Regulations. For purposes of the refund policy, mandatory fees are defined as those systemwide and campus fees that are required to be paid in order to enroll in state-supported academic programs at the CSU. Refunds of fees and tuition charges for self-support, special session, and extended education programs or courses at the CSU are governed by a separate policy established by the university. Learn more about the Extended Ed refund process.

In order to receive a full refund of tuition and mandatory tuition and fees, less an administrative charge established by the campus, including nonresident tuition fee, you must cancel registration or drop all courses prior to the first day of instruction for the term. Information on procedures and deadlines for canceling registration and dropping classes is available in the Classes & Planning section of the CSUMB.EDU website. You should call the Campus Service Center or check the CSUMB.EDU/calendar  webpages to determine exact deadline dates for fee refunds.

For state-supported semesters, quarters, and non-standard terms or courses of four (4) weeks or more, a student who withdraws during the term in accordance with the University’s established procedures, or drops all courses prior to the campus-designated drop period will receive a refund of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, based on the portion of the term during which the student was enrolled. No student withdrawing after the 60 percent point in the term will be entitled to a refund of any mandatory fees or nonresident tuition.

A student who, within the campus designated drop period and in accordance with campus procedures, drops units resulting in a lower tuition and/or mandatory fee obligation shall be entitled to a refund of applicable tuition and mandatory fees less an administrative charge established by the campus.

For state-supported non-standard terms or courses of less than four (4) weeks, no refunds of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition will be made unless a student cancels registration or drops all classes, in accordance with the University’s established procedures and deadlines, prior to the first day of instruction for state-supported non-standard terms or courses or prior to the first meeting for courses of less than four (4) weeks.

Students will also receive a refund of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, under the following circumstances:

  • The tuition and fees were assessed or collected in error;
  • The course for which the tuition and fees were assessed or collected was cancelled by the University;
  • The University makes a delayed decision that the student was not eligible to enroll in the term for which mandatory tuition and fees were assessed and collected and the delayed decision was not due to incomplete or inaccurate information provided by the student; or
  • The student was activated for compulsory military service.

Students who are not entitled to a refund as described above may petition the University for a refund demonstrating exceptional circumstances and the chief financial officer of the University or designee may authorize a refund if he or she determines that the mandatory fees and tuition fee were not earned by the University.

Information concerning any aspect of the refund of fees, may be obtained from the Student Accounts Receivable Department, located in the Campus Service Center.

Payment of Refunds

All refunds will be assessed an administrative processing fee. Refunds will be applied first toward any required return of funds that had been received by or on behalf of the student from federal, state, institutional, or external sources that were conditioned on the student’s enrollment, and second against other amounts due to CSUMB.

If a student officially drop courses before the end of the add/drop period and it results in a change from full-time to part-time status, the student’s refund will be mailed four to six weeks after the close of the add/drop period. If the student officially withdraws or cancels all classes prior to the 60 percent point in the term, the student’s prorata refund will be mailed four to six weeks from the date that the university receives the student’s official notification.

Refund of Registration Fees to Title 4 Financial Aid Recipients

If a student was awarded financial aid and is withdrawing, the student must see a Financial Aid Office representative to discuss eligibility, rights and responsibilities, reasonable academic progress requirements, and future aid eligibility. If a student was awarded financial aid and fails to officially withdraw, the student may be subject to total aid cancellation. In addition, financial aid monies allocated to the student may need to be refunded to Title 4 programs, or the student may need to repay a portion of the funds received, if the student withdraws, drops out, is expelled, or otherwise becomes ineligible during the payment period. A copy of this policy is available at the Financial Aid Office.

Fees and Debts Owed to the Institution

Should a student or former student fail to pay a fee or a debt owed to the institution, including tuition and student charges, CSUMB may “withhold permission to register, to use facilities for which a fee is authorized to be charged, to receive services, materials, food or merchandise or any combination of the above from any person owing a debt” until the debt is paid (see Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Sections 42380 and 42381).

Prospective students who register for courses offered by the University are obligated for the payment of charges and fees associated with registration for those courses. Failure to cancel registration in any course for an academic term prior to the first day of the academic term gives rise to an obligation to pay student charges and fees including any tuition for the reservation of space in the course.

CSUMB may withhold permission to register or other services offered by the institution from anyone owing fees or another debt to the institution. CSUMB may also report the debt to a credit bureau, offset the amount due against any future state tax refunds due to you, or refer the debt to an outside collection agency and/or charge you actual and reasonable collection costs, including reasonable attorney fees if litigation is necessary, in collecting any amount not paid when due.

CSUMB may not withhold an official transcript of grades by the institution from anyone owing fees or another debt to the institution (see Title 1.6C.7) (commencing with Section 1788.90) Part 4 of Division 3 of the Civil Code).  CSUMB can still charge a fee for the issuance of the transcript pursuant to their published transcript processing fee.

If you believe you do not owe all or part of an asserted unpaid obligation, you may contact Student Accounts Receivable. Student Accounts Receivable, or another office on campus to which Student Accounts Receivable may refer you, will review all pertinent information provided by you and available to the campus and will advise you of its conclusions.

A Business and Finance hold will be placed on all of your academic records until payment is received.

Payment by guaranteed funds (cash, money order, cashier’s check, or online credit card payment) will clear a Business and Finance hold within 24 hours. Payment by e-Check will result in a delay of 5-7 business days in clearing the hold and payment by paper check will result in a delay of 7-12 business days in clearing the hold.

Returned Checks (paper and electronic)

If you pay by personal check (paper or electronic) for any university-related fees or services, you will be assessed a $25 returned check/ACH fee for the first check/ACH not honored by the bank for any reason. This includes incorrectly entering your account and routing numbers on eCheck (ACH). The amount of the original check plus the $25 fee becomes a financial obligation to CSUMB. A $20 administrative late fee may also apply. Subsequent returned checks (paper or electronic) will be assessed a $35 returned check/ACH fee. Following the return of a second check/ACH, CSUMB reserves the right to refuse to accept your personal checks (paper or electronic) for any future payments. (Note: CSUMB has no control over whether a bank sends checks through a second time for clearing.)

A Business and Finance hold will be placed on all of your academic records until payment is received.

Payment by guaranteed funds (cash, money order, cashier’s check, or online credit card payment) will clear a Business and Finance hold within 24 hours. Payment by e-Check will result in a delay of 5-7 business days in clearing the hold and payment by paper check will result in a delay of 7-12 business days in clearing the hold.

You are hereby given notice that if the bank for any reason does not honor a personal check (paper or electronic) used by you to pay registration fees, your registration is subject to cancellation. Once canceled, you will not be reinstated.

Questions

Please contact the Campus Service Center.

Health Insurance

For information and/or to purchase medical coverage, access www.csuhealthlink.com

For claims, eligibility, and coverage questions, contact Blue Cross Life & Health Ins. Company (BC Life) at 800-888-2108 or access www.bluecrossca.com

Or, for general questions you may call our health insurance administrators: Wells Fargo of California, Insurance Service, Inc., Student Insurance Division 800-853-5899 or 916-231-3399.

Please note that the Campus Health Center (CHC) and Student Health Insurance are separate programs. Matriculated students who have paid their health fees are eligible to receive medical care through the CHC whether or not you are covered by CSUMB-sponsored student health insurance or any other health insurance policy. See the Campus Health Center website, “Who Can Use the Campus Health Center” for more information about eligibility.

Procedures to Establish or Abolish Campus-Based Fees

The law governing the California State University provides that specific campus fees defined as mandatory, such as a student association fee and a student center fee, may be established. A student association fee must be established upon a favorable vote of two-thirds of the students voting in an election held for this purpose (Education Code,Section 89300). The campus President may adjust the student association fee only after the fee adjustment has been approved by a majority of students voting in a referendum established for that purpose. The required fee shall be subject to referendum at any time upon the presentation of a petition to the campus President containing the signatures of 10 percent of the regularly enrolled students at the University. Student association fees support a variety of cultural and recreational programs, childcare centers, and special student support programs. A student center fee may be established only after a fee referendum is held which approves by a two-thirds favorable vote the establishment of the fee (Education Code, Section 89304). Once bonds are issued, authority to set and adjust student center fees is governed by provisions of the State University Revenue Bond Act of 1947, including, but not limited to, Education Code sections 90012,90027, and 90068.

The process to establish and adjust other campus-based mandatory fees requires consideration by the campus fee advisory committee and a student referendum as established by California State University Student Fee Policy (Executive Order 1102), Section III. The campus President may use alternate consultation mechanisms if he/she determines that a referendum is not the best mechanism to achieve appropriate and meaningful consultation. Results of the referendum and the fee committee review are advisory to the campus President. The President may adjust campus-based mandatory fees but must request the Chancellor to establish a new mandatory fee. The President shall provide to the campus fee advisory committee a report of all campus-based mandatory fees. The campus shall report annually to the Chancellor a complete inventory of all campus-based mandatory fees.

For more information or questions, please contact the Budget Office in the CSU Chancellor’s Office at (562) 951-4560.

Contact

Campus Service Center (a satellite cashier station)

100 Campus Center
Student Services Building, First Floor
Seaside, CA  93955-8001
Phone: 831-582-5100

Students Accounts Receivable

Mountain Hall “C”
100 Campus Center
Seaside, CA  93955-8001

Student refunds only: 831-582-4728

Other student account questions: 831-582-3139